Professor Rohde receives honorary membership



Professor Dr. Ulrich L. Rohde.

In recognition of his outstanding scientific achievements, Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Dr. h. c. mult. Ulrich L. Rohde was selected as an honorary member of the Bayarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities by its plenary assembly in late 2013. Besides Duke Franz of Bavaria. Ulrich L. Rohde is now the second honorary member of the Academy. He has supported the Academy for many years in its efforts to foster promotion of young researchers and has championed the Academy's Young Scholars Program ("| unges Kolleg") created in 2010 to open new career doors for the next generation of scientists. Founded in 1759, the Academy is not only one of the largest and oldest organizations of its type in Germany. It also has an international reputation for its fundamental research in natural sciences and humanities. The Academy's most renowned members include Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, Alexander von Humboldt and Albert Finstein